DEMENT-MERIDIAN 61-2994

Charles Scott, Mayor
Robert DeVaull, Alderman Ward 1
Lady B. Garth, Alderwoman Ward 2
Edward Haynes, Jr., Alderman Ward 3
Carolyn Odom, Alderwoman Ward 4
John Allen, Alderman Ward 5



CITY OF ABERDEEN

Melissa Moore, City Clerk Karen Crump, City Comptroller Roy Havnes, City Inspector Chief of Police Fred Hodges, Fire Chief Walter H. Zinn. Jr., City Attorney

SPECIAL CALLED BOARD MEETING CITY HALL BOARD ROOM MAY 25, 2021 10:00 A.M.

BE IT REMEMBERED THAT THE MAYOR AND BOARD OF ALDERMEN/ALDERWOMEN MET IN THE CITY HALL BOARD ROOM WITH THE FOLLOWING MEMBERS PRESENT:

MAYOR CHARLES SCOTT, ALDERMAN ROBERT DEVAULL, ALDERWOMAN CAROLYN ODOM, ALDERMAN JOHN ALLEN, MELISSA MOORE, CITY CLERK AND ROBERT H. FAULKS, CITY ATTORNEY.

Not present: Alderwoman Lady B. Garth and Alderman Edward Haynes.

Attending by telephone: Alderman John Allen.

Invocation: Mayor Charles Scott.

Roll Call.

A motion was made by Alderman Devaull, seconded by Alderwoman Odom to order and set a special election due to the vacancy in the Office of the Chief of Police:

RESOLUTION AND ORDER FOR A SPECIAL ELECTION TO BE HELD FOR THE ELECTIVE OFFICE OF CHIEF OF POLICE FOR THE CITY OF ABERDEEN, MISSISSIPPI

WHEREAS, a vacancy has occurred in the elective office of the Chief of Police of the City of Aberdeen, Mississippi due to the death of Chief Henry O'Neal Randle on Sunday, May 16, 2021; and

WHEREAS, the unexpired term of said Office exceeds six (6) months;

NOW THEREFORE, IT IS HEREBY ORDERED that, pursuant to Mississippi Code Annotated Section 23-15-857, a special election shall be held in the City of Aberdeen, Monroe County, Mississippi, on the 6th day of July, 2021, for the purpose of electing a Chief of Police to fill the vacancy as a result of the death of the former Chief of Police of the City of Aberdeen, Mississippi.

125 West Commerce Street • Aberdeen, MS 39730 • 662-369-4165 • Fax 662-369-4118

Special Called Board Meeting May 25, 2021 Page 2

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED, that each candidate shall qualify by petition filed with the Aberdeen City Clerk by 5:00 p.m. on Wednesday, June 16, 2021. The Petition shall be signed by not less than fifty (50) qualified electors of said City. No qualifying fee shall be required of any candidate.

If no candidate in said election receives a majority of the votes cast therein, the two candidates receiving the highest number of votes shall have their names placed on the ballot for a run-off election to be held three weeks thereafter.

SO RESOLVED, ORDERED, AND DIRECTED by the Mayor and the Board of Aldermen of the City of Aberdeen, Mississippi on this the 25th day of May 2021.

On a roll call vote, Alderman Devaull, Alderwoman Odom and Alderman Allen voted "Aye".

Dustin Dabbs (Dabbs Corporation, Tupelo, MS) presented information concerning the 10 Year Utility Prioritization Planning - Water & Sanitary Sewer Systems, and asked the Mayor and Board to accept a Proposal for Professional Services to provide planning and related design services related to future utility improvements projects for the City water and sanitary sewer systems as follows:

PROPOSED SERVICES/FEES:

Field Reconnaissance & Data Collection	\$2,500.00
Water System Evaluation / Planning	\$3,000.00
Water System Schematic Design & Alternatives	\$7,000.00
Sewer System Evaluation / Planning	\$3,000.00
Sewer System Schematic Design & Alternatives	\$7,000.00
Report of Findings	\$2,500.00
TOTAL PROFESSIONAL SERVICES FEES	\$25,000.00
	N

Special Called Board Meeting May 25, 2021 Page 3

A motion was made by Alderwoman Odom, seconded by Alderman Allen to retain Dustin Dabbs/ Dabbs Corporation to provide the planning and related design services related to future utility improvements projects for the City water and sanitary sewer systems as described in the aforementioned Proposal for Professional Services. On a roll call vote, Alderman Devaull, Alderwoman Odom and Alderman Allen voted "Aye".

A motion was made by Alderwoman Odom, seconded by Alderman Devaull to adjourn until the June 1, 2021 Board Meeting. On a roll call vote, all present voted "Aye".

Charles Scott, Mayor

Melissa Moore, City Clerk